HomeLinuxTop 4 Linux Certification

Top 4 Linux Certification

As we know the importance and demand of Linux certification are rapidly growing in the IT industry, and it will help the IT professional to achieve growth in their career development. So today we will discuss top Linux certifications that are globally recognized and highly in demand by the employers. So, without any further ado let’s explore the top four Linux Certifications that you can get in 2019. 

1.      CompTIA Linux+ 

CompTIA Linux+ certification is presented by LPI (Linux Professional Institute). It delivers the learning techniques and provides the skill on Linux which allows producing numbers of Linux related Expert jobs like Junior Network Administrators, Linux Administrators, Linux Database Administrators, Systems Administrators, and Web Administrators. The main focus of CompTIA Linux+ Certification is to deliver the candidates sufficient knowledge on a critical knowledge of installation, administration, operation and troubleshooting devices. To get the certification individual required to pass the two tests, which are LX0-103 and LX0-104. Domains of these test are: 

a)      CompTIA Linux+ Certification 

  •         System Architecture
  •         Package management and Linux installation
  •         UNIX commands and GNU
  •         Linux file systems, File system hierarchy standard, Devices

b)      CompTIA Linux+ Certification 

  •         Administrative Tasks
  •         Data management, Shells, and Scripting
  •         Desktops and user interface
  •         Security
  •         Essential system services
  •         Networking Fundamentals

Prerequisites and Recommendations: There is no specific requirement for this certification but it is recommended to have CompTIA A+, CompTIA Network+ and 12 months experience as Linux administrator. 

Duration of Exam: 90 Minutes 

Passing Score: The passing score for this certification is 500 on a scale of (200-800). 

Cost of exam: 206 USD but may vary by geography. 

The validity of Certification: This certification is valid for 3 years after getting certified. 

 2.      Red Hat Certified Engineer – RHCE 

Red Hat Certified Engineer is one of the highly demanded and globally recognized Linux certification. This certification is designed to provide candidates skill and knowledge of arranging an Internet Small Computer System Interface – iSCSI, providing reports on system utilization, organizing static routes, packet filtering, and network address translation, configuring system logging, setting kernel runtime parameters, using shell scripting to automate system maintenance tasks, NFS – network file system, Providing networking services, FTP – File transfer protocol, SSH – secure shell, SMTP – simple mail transfer protocol, SMB – server message block, NTP – Network time protocol and more. The RHCE is highly recommended to all those individuals who are certified RHCSA and wish to get more senior-level credentials and those who have completed System Administration (I, II, and III) or those who have finished the RCHE fast route course. 

Prerequisites and Recommendations: To hold the RHSCA is the only prerequisite of this exam. 

Duration of Exam: 21-22 hours depending on the course chosen. 

Passing Score: The passing score for this certification is 70% i.e. 210 out of 300 

Cost of exam: The cost of this exam is 400 USD. 

The validity of Certification: This certification is valid for 3 years. 


Oracle Linux certification is designed for developing skills and providing knowledge to the candidates about Oracle products and technologies. The individual needs to pass the IT training and performance base assignment for getting this certification. Oracle Linux divide into two exams, which are Oracle Certified Associate – OCA and Oracle Certified Professional – OCP. 

i)        Oracle Certified Associate – OCA 

Oracle Certified Associate (OCA) certification provides the basic knowledge and skill of implementation and administration of the Oracle Linux Operating System. Through this certification, candidates can get knowledge of Oracle Linux distribution that helps for optimizing the Oracle products and for running the Oracle engineered systems including Oracle Exalytics In-Memory Machine, Oracle Database Appliance, Oracle Exadata Database Machine and Oracle Exalogic Elastic Cloud. The main objective of OCA certification are: 

  •         Installing and removing Solaris packages and patches.
  •         Handling file systems.
  •         Managing local disk devices.
  •         Executing system boot procedures and system processes

Prerequisites and Recommendations: There is no prerequisite for the OCA exam. 

Duration of Exam: 120 Minutes 

Passing Score: The passing score for this certification is 64%. 

The validity of Certification: This certification will never expire. 

ii)    Oracle Certified Professional – OCP 

Oracle Certified Professional (OCP) is designed to provide advanced knowledge and skills of an Oracle Linux Administration. This certification delivers the knowledge of managing applications, managing swap configuration, crash dumps, configuring a network interface, core files, and databases. Oracle Certified Professional certification provides the professional skills and technical expertise that are essential for implementing, developing and managing the applications. It enables the candidate to prepare Oracle Linux system for Oracle database, ability to execute security administration, installing software packages, configuring and installing kernel modules, troubleshooting problems and performing corrective action, performing user and grouping administration, configuring logical volume manager – LVM, Maintaining swap space, file-sharing services and more.  

Prerequisites and Recommendations: The prerequisite for this certification is to pass the OCA exam. 

Duration of Exam: 120 Minutes 

Passing Score: The passing score for this certification is 64%. 

The validity of Certification: This certification will never expire. 

4.      Linux Professional Institute Certification – LPIC 

LPIC is another highly recognized Linux certification that is provided by Linux Professional Institute. This certification offers multi-level certification programs and individual is required to pass several exams for each level (usually two). It is simplified into three levels which are: 

a)      LPIC-1: Linux Administration 

It is a junior-level Linux certification, which requires no prerequisites to appear in the exam. LPIC-1 based on two exams that covers all the primary Linux skills that include performing maintenance task, making internet or LAN connections, configuring and installing Linux on a workstation, and more. You can get Linux system administrator training to easily pass the exam. 

b)      LPIC-2: Linux Engineer 

It is an advanced level Linux Certification that needs to hold LPIC-1 certification as the prerequisites to make eligible for the exam. This certification is also based on two exams the first one covers the techniques of network configuration, storage administration, system maintenance, capacity planning, file system, and devices and system startup and the second exams covers the ability and techniques of network client management, system security, domain name servers, email services and troubleshooting. 

c)      LPIC-3: Linux Enterprise Professional Certification 

It is a senior-level Linux certification that required to pass LPIC-1 and LPIC-2 exams along with the any of 300 series, which are 300: Mixed Environment, 303: Security, and 304: Virtualization and High Availability. This certification is designed to focus on numerous specialties like security and virtualization. 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here